Subscribe for free: News alert
  • Follow us:
Go to mobile version:

Third political party – Linyon Sanzman – presents candidates for September parliamentary elections in Seychelles

Victoria, Seychelles | August 1, 2016, Monday @ 15:11 in National » POLITICS | By: Rassin Vannier and Sharon Uranie | Views: 4643
Third political party – Linyon Sanzman – presents candidates for September parliamentary elections in Seychelles

Group photo of 22 out of 25 candidates who will be standing under the banner of Linyon Sanzman in the upcoming parliamentary polls in Seychelles. (Rassin Vannier, Seychelles News Agency) 

Photo license  

(Seychelles News Agency) - Linyon Sanzman or Union for Change on Sunday became the third political party in Seychelles to officially present its line-up for upcoming parliamentary elections set for September 8-10.

The opposition party announced candidates who will stand in all of the 25 electoral districts.

The leader of Linyon Sanzman, Martin Aglaé, said: "We would like to reiterate our commitment to work to take the country out of its present situation, for a better future."

The party is quite new on the Seychelles political scene. It registered in April.

‘Ini pour en nouvo lasanble’ [unite for a new assembly] is the campaign theme chosen by Linyon Sanzman.

The leader of Linyon Sanzman Martin Aglae. (Rassin Vannier, Seychelles News Agency)  Photo License: CC-BY 

Two other political parties have already presented their line-up. The ruling Parti Lepep was the first to present its 25 candidates, followed by an opposition coalition -- Linyon Demokratik Seselwa (LDS) or the ‘Seychellois Democratic Alliance.’

Other opposition parties have also expressed their intention to contest the September elections and should be presenting their contenders in the coming days.

The Electoral Commission has set August 17 as nomination day for the registration of candidates.

While the majority of Linyon Sanzman members presenting themselves as candidates will be contesting their first parliamentary election, Aglae is not new to Seychellois politics. He made his debut at the age of 20 in 2011 when he stood as a candidate for the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) for La Digue island. He obtained 63 votes in the election.

He has since been involved in other opposition parties including the Seychelles National Party before deciding to register his own party saying his aim is to remove the ruling ‘Parti Lepep’ from power and unite the opposition parties.

In the upcoming legislative polls, Aglae will stand for English River -- a central district on the outskirts of the Seychelles capital, Victoria, where one of the Linyon Demokratik Seselwa leaders, Wavel Ramkalawan will also be standing.

On Sunday, Aglae again called on other opposition parties to unite to send a clear message to the ruling Parti Lepep.

“We are convinced that we will obtain a good result and we will have a strong assembly,” said Aglae.

This will be the second time in less than a year that eligible voters of the 115-island archipelago in the western Indian Ocean with a population of around 93,000 are being called to vote.

A presidential election which went through a historic run-off was held in December. The ruling party’s candidate James Michel was re-elected as President with 50.15 percent of the votes.

The opposition candidate Ramkalawan, representing the Seychelles National Party (SNP), received 49.85 percent of the votes. A difference of 193 votes separated the two candidates.

The ruling party has always won a majority in the assembly since the establishment of the Third Republic, which saw the return of a multi-party system in 1993.

In the last elections, all 25 directly elected seats were won by Parti Lepep which also holds six of the seven proportionately elected seats.

The leader of the opposition in the National Assembly from the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) currently holds the 7th proportional seat in the house.

PDM was the only contender alongside Parti Lepep in 2011 as the main opposition parties boycotted the elections.

Parliamentary polls in Seychelles are held every five years. The last elections took place between September 29 and October 1, 2011.


Linyon Sanzman candidates announced on Sunday

Anse-Aux-Pins : Louisa Ernesta

Anse-Boileau : Tershia Songoire

Au-Cap : Isha Moustache

Anse-Royale: Christopher Savy

Anse-Etoile: Dave Jeanne

Baie-Lazare: Pascal Bastille

Belombre: Erdley Labonte

Bel-Air: Ruben Amade

Baie-St-Anne Praslin: Jimmy Gabriel

Beau-Vallon : Maresa Labonte

Cascade : Darius Revera

English-River:  Martin Aglae

Grand-Anse Mahe: Kevin Sinon

Grand-Anse Praslin: Brian Brizilia

Glacis: Rivaltz Hoareau

Inner Island: Jean-Batiste Rose

Les-Mamelles : Sharon Moses

Mont-Buxton : Nelson Rose

Mont-Fleuri : Sara Denousse

Plaisance : Carol Dubel

Port-Glaud : James Port-Louis

Point-Larue : Jean-Yves Sinon

Roche-Caiman :  Cliff Francoise

St-Louis :  Rena Agricole

Takamaka : Vanessa Brutus

Politics » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Linyon Sanzman, candidates, parliamentary elections, Martin Aglaé

More from Politics →

Related Articles

general →

Top news


» Advanced search